My Life is One Big Geek Out

There are many things I’m planning to write about, but I’m currently taking a bunch of pills (prescribed for a couple of bizarre ailments that have befallen me) and am ridiculously tired. Two weeks or so left of this garbage if all heals well, and until then I’m not expecting much from myself. Not writing compulsively is boring, though, so I’ll be eking out whatever prose I can. The world really can’t do with a break from my fine ass.

In the meantime, here is my schedule for the next couple of weeks:

Thursday, April 16th:
“Geography” in Latino Writing Today. Four notable writers will discuss geography and the notion of “borders” as a place, an idea, and a force in their work and in U.S. Latino writing.
Also: Happy birthday to Candice!

Friday, April 17th:
Sugar at Cinema Arts Centre
Sugar is the intense character study of Sugar, a naturally gifted baseball-pitcher from the Dominican Republic.”

Saturday, April 18th:
Record Store Day! Heading over to Looney Tunes in the morning to pick up some new vinyl, then we’re on our way to New Jersey in the afternoon to see the NY Red Bulls play Real Salt Lake. We have season tickets. Don’t ask me details about soccer, though, I just curse and cheer. Occasionally at the wrong times. Baseball is the only sport in which I am fluent.

Friday, April 24th:
Sandra Cisneros at Instituto Cervantes for the 25th anniversary of the publication of The House on Mango Street.
Cassandra’s 24th birthday party at Le Royale!

Saturday, April 25th:
Must see The Soloist. The trailer made me cry. I’ve not read the book. Should I try to read the book first?

Sunday, April 26th:
New Jersey again to see the Red Bulls play DC United.

Wednesday, April 29th:
The birthday of my good friend Doug! He’ll be 22.
If there are no festivities on this day, I’ll attend “Roland Barthes and the Invention of Modernity,” part of the PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature which I will be coming into in the middle.

Thursday, April 30th:
Kerry, my red-headed BFF since 7th grade, turns 24. This year we’re also celebrating being friends for half of our lives.
I took off from work so that I can attend both “Tendencies in Spanish Language Literature” and “Diálogos Isleños: The Life and Work of Reinaldo Arenas and Blai Bonet.” In between these, I’ll be going to my Spanish class. If you haven’t noticed, I am into Spanish and Latin American/Latin@ literature.

Friday, May 1st:
Again, no work so that I can have a clear mind, take notes, and live-tweet “The Best of Contemporary Mexican Fiction.” I will get so many followers.

Saturday, May 2nd:
“Where Truth Lies: A Conversation on the Art of Fiction”
“Writers Who Are Translators”
“On Translation”
My head will be spinning by the time I get to to The PEN Cabaret at 7:30pm. Participants include Lou Reed, Parker Posey, and Horacio Castellanos Moya, so I had no choice but to buy tickets.

Looks good to me. Now I need to write it all down in pen or I will forget everything.

0 Responses to “My Life is One Big Geek Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

