Recently Bought and Currently Reading

So this happened.

So this happened.

To keep you up to date on my book purchases, I’ve recently (finally) acquired Zadie Smith’s White Teeth (I’m reading her books both very late and backwards), the collection The Book of Other People that she edited, Jonathan Franzen’s Strong Motion ($6!), and James Hannaham’s God Says No. I’m currently involved in Daniel Alarcón’s Lost City Radio and slightly involved in Zizek & Millbank’s The Monstrosity of Christ. It’s hard to make time for philosophy in this life, guys. Here and there I’ll also pick up either Drown by Junot Díaz or The Collected Stories of Amy Hempel (both I’ve already read) for a schooling on the short story. Basically, way too much and I need to get my act together. I was never the kind of person who got herself into the middle of a million things; I read a fucking book straight through! This somewhat abrupt change in my habits probably says something about how I’m currently relating to life in general, but this is not the time nor place to deal with all that business.

Oh, and fuck, the rest of Best of Contemporary Mexican Fiction is on my makeshift desk shelf giving me the side eye for failing to 1) mention it and 2) keep up with my Spanish-language studies. I guess I’ll go to bed feeling bad. Tomorrow is a new day with the bright, shiny promise of more lists and resolutions.

0 Responses to “Recently Bought and Currently Reading”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

