5. What is your writing process like?

When I’m writing a story, the characters live in my head. It’s really like they’ve moved in for a while with all their baggage, and they’re with me 24/7. I may be stuck in traffic or working out at the gym when one of the characters tells me something, and I immediately jot it down. The characters reveal themselves gradually. Sometimes it takes weeks to come up with the perfect name or perfect occupation for a character. (A name can change many, many times until it feels exactly right.) My favorite part: I’m sitting at my computer, and a character says something that’s really hilarious, so I burst out laughing, sometimes uncontrollably. My dog looks at me like I’m out of my mind. —Garrett Socol at PANK Magazine Blog

2 Responses to “5. What is your writing process like?”


  1. 2 dorthastrong87861 April 8, 2016 at 9:30 am

    u5728u958bu5074u84cbu7684u60c5u6cc1u4e0bnu7d05u767du5361u76eeu524du6eabu5ea689u5ea6ncyclone 71u5ea6ncpu by motherboard sensor 67.5, Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

